Select Australian suburbs get ready to upgrade your NBN to FTTP (aka really, really fast internet) – For free

2021-09-16 06:22 am

  • Fibre to the Node (FTTN) connections to Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) upgrades are coming to select Australian suburbs 
  • FTTP means ultrafast broadband speed (up to 1GBPS, which is 1,000Mbps, or 1000 Megabits per second, which is really, really fast) 
  • As soon as the upgrade has been performed you will be able to request a free upgrade to FTTP



Dreaming of a faster internet connection? For select Australian suburbs, this will soon be your reality!  

NBN Co has recently released exciting plans to upgrade two million Fibre to the Node (FTTN) connections to Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) in select suburbs* throughout Australia at no cost to those who dwell in the list of suburbs below. If you are not on the lucky list, do not fret as there are plans to roll the FTTP upgrades out to an additional 75% of capable homes and businesses by the end of 2023.  

What does this ‘exciting’ upgrade mean? 

Basically, you will enjoy ultrafast broadband speed (up to 1GBPS, which is 1,000Mbps, or 1000 Megabits per second, which is really, really fast - in fact it’s NBN’s highest wholesale speed tier available) 
Positive news for Netflix bingers, gamers, family photobook makers and more! 

When can you access this really, really fast FTTP connection… 

As soon as the upgrade has been performed by NBN Co in your area, you’ll be able to request a free upgrade to FTTP by ordering a faster plan (at least an NBN100). 

In the meantime you can check out Tangerine’s current NBN plans here.

NBN Co is currently consulting with internet retailers as it establishes its system for informing customers when premises become eligible to receive the upgrade. 


Need to find out how your home is currently connected to the NBN? 

Simply search for your address in the BUILD YOUR PLAN box here


Finally, here’s a telco lingo refresher on the differences between FTTN and FTTP 

FTTN – Fibre to the node: This utilises existing copper phone and internet network from fibre nodes, which you will spot nearby your premises (big green boxes/cabinets generally). 

FTTP – Fibre to the premises: This is where NBN runs fibre from the node nearby, directly to your house or business. This connection is considered the best because it is a full fibre connection between the NBN and your home, as opposed to it being a mixture of the other fixed-line technologies. 


Suburbs where customers will be able to upgrade to NBN FTTP: 

Customers located in these suburbs will be able to upgrade to an NBN FTTP services Plan from November 2021. 


Alexandria, Albion Park, Austinmer, Balgownie, Bankstown, Barrack Heights, Barrack Point, Batemans Bay, Belmont, Bogangar, Byron Bay, Cabarita Beach, Camperdown, Charlestown, Claymore, Cordeaux Heights, Corlette, Davistown, Dubbo, East Albury, Erina, Erskinville, Ettalong Beach, Fairy Meadow, Fingal Bay, Forster, Gerringong, Glenfield Park, Glenmore Park, Gorokan, Horningsea, Hoxton Park, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Cove, Jerrabomberra, Kariong, Kellyville, Kincumber, Islington, Lake Illawarra, Maryville, Merrywether Heights, Milton, Mount Annan, Mount Pleasant, Narellan, Nelson Bay, North Richmond, North Wollongong, Oak Flats, Old Bar, Prestons, Raymond Terrace, Salamander Bay, Seven Hills, Shoal Bay, Soldiers Point, St Georges Basin, Terrigal, Thirroul, Tuncurry, Tweed Heads, Ulladulla, Umina Beach, Warilla, Warners Bay, West Hoxton, Woodbine, Woolwich, Woonona, Worrigee, Woy Woy, Yattalunga. Bathurst, Campbelltown, Elderslie, Maitland, Narellan, New Lambton, Orange, Singleton, Tarro. Belmont North, Carramar, Castle Hill, Charlestown, Holsworthy, Liverpool, Toronto, Wetherill Park. 



Aireys Inlet, Albert Park, Alfredton, Barwon Heads, Belmont, Berwick, Caroline Springs, Cowes, Craigieburn, Deer Park (additional footprint), Delacombe, Derrimut, Echuca, Fairhaven, Geelong, Geelong West, Grovedale, Hampton Park, Hastings, Highton, Kalimna, Kangaroo Flat, Lakes Entrance, Leopold, Mernda, Mornington, Ocean Grove, Pakenham, Pearcedale, Rosebud, Sebastopol, Seymore, Somerville, Sunshine West, Tarneit, Torquay, Traralgon, Warrnambool, Waurn Ponds, West Wodonga, Wodonga Berwick South, Cranbourne, Deer Park, additional areas of Narre Warren, Sydenham. 



Alexandra Headland, Andergrove, Bargara, Bayview Heights, Beaconsfield, Bellara, Bentley Park, Blacks Beach, Brinsmead, Buderim, Bulimba, Burpengary, Burpengary East, Caboolture, Caboolture South, Cannonvale, Castaways Beach, Clifton Beach, Coolangatta, Coolum Beach, Cooroibah, Craiglie, Currimundi, Dolphin Heads, Earville, Edmonton, Eimeo, Forest Lake, Freshwater, Glenella, Griffin, Heathwood, Kawungan, Kewarra Beach, Lawnton, Meridan Plains, Monoora, Mooloolaba, Manunda, Marcoola, Marcus Beach, Maroochydore, Minyama, Mooroobool, Morayfield, Mount Coolum, Mount Pleasant, Mount Sheridan, Mountain Creek, Murrumba Downs, Newtown (4350), Noosa Heads, Noosaville, Ormeau, Pacific Paradise, Pacific Pines, Parrearra, Peregian Beach, Port Douglas, Proserpine, Redlynch, Rothwell, Seventeen Mile Rocks, Stratford, Sunrise Beach, Sunshine Beach, Tewantin, Trinity Beach, Twin Waters, Upper Coomera, Urraween, Victoria Point, Warana, White Rock, Woree.Albany Creek, Ashgrove, Bald Hills, Burleigh Heads, Ferny Hills, Robina, Townsville, Acacia Ridge, Browns Plains, Eight Mile Plains, Oxenford. 



Andrews Farm, Ascot, Ascot Park, Balcatta, Edwardstown, Exeter, Glanville, Grange, Largs Bay, Munno Park West, New Port, Port Adelaide, Seaton, Semaphore, Tennyson, West Lakes, Woodville West, Elizabeth, Gepps Cross, Golden Grove, Salisbury.Osborne. 



Balcatta, Balga, Bayswater, Beaconsfield, Beckenham, Belmont, Bentley, Bicton, Cannington, City Beach, Cloverdale, Coogee, East Cannington, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Gosnells, Hamilton Hill, Highgate, Hilton, Huntingdale, Karawara, Karrinyup, Kewdale, Maylands, Midland, Morley, Mount Lawley, Nollamara, North Fremantle, North Perth, Osborne Park, Palmyra, Redcliffe, Riverton, Rivervale, Rossmoyne, Samson, Scarborough, Shelley, South Fremantle, Southern River, Spearwood, St James, Stirling, Tuart Hill, Waikiki, Waterford, Wembley Downs, Westminster, Yokine, Canning Vale, Girrawheen, Jandakot South, Kingsley, Wanneroo, Cannington, Double View 



Camdale, Cooee, Devonport, Howrah, Legana, Ocean Vista, Park Grove, Paklands, Sandy Bay, Shorewell Park, Tranmere. 



Alice Springs, Araluen, Braitling, Ciccone, Desert Springs, East Side, Gillen, Ilpara, Larapinta, Ross, Sadadeen, The Gap. 


Tangerine Telecom is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 2193 customers